The 5Rhythms 

Flowing, Staccato, Chaos, Lyrical and Stillness

“Energy moves in waves.
Waves move in patterns.
Patterns move in rhythms.
A human being is just that,
energy, waves patterns rhythms.
Nothing more. Nothing less.
A dance.”

~Gabrielle Roth

5Rhythms is a transformative movement meditation practise created by Gabrielle Roth that frees your body, opens your heart and awakens your soul. It is a spiritual practise that has the power to catalyse deep change, healing and transformation. There are no choreographed steps to follow, you are invited to follow your own creative movement and expression that comes from within, guided by a journey through a series of 5 universal rhythms that form a wave and follow the movement of energy in nature.  

As we follow our own dance, the mind relaxes and we enter a flow of energy that leads us beyond the thinking mind, ego and personality, into the expansive, infinite dimension of ourselves, opening our source energy and our essential nature.

The 5Rhythms is a process of self discovery and self realization. Once we begin to move our body, things inside of us begin to move. Emotions, old patterns, and wounds that are ready to be released can emerge through the flow of the dance and be expressed, transformed, and healed. The practice bring us home to our true essence, our wholeness and the wisdom of our heart and inner knowing, where we can experience a deep sense of belonging to life, as co-creators and masters of our own destiny. The practice is very simple and accessible to people of all ages and abilities, and suitable for anyone who wants to rediscover the joy and freedom of dance that is within all of us regardless of age, physical ability or body type. 

Flowing (Earth)   

Flowing is the rhythm of the feminine, of the earth, of the mother. In flowing, we physically practice the art of being fluid in our bodies. Flowing is the pipeline to our inner truth, the impulse to follow the flow of one’s own energy, to be true to oneself—listening and attending to our needs, receptive to our inner and outer worlds. When we open up to the flow of our physical being, all other pathways open.


Staccato (Fire)   

Staccato is the rhythm of the masculine. The music is percussive and driven by the beat. We move with clarity and definition with linear percussive movements. Staccato is the gateway to the heart, our inner fire and aliveness. We follow the pulse of our heartbeat. Staccato is the rhythm of expression, expressing ourselves in the world and becoming visible. It is the teacher of boundaries and our warrior self. 

Chaos (Water)   

In the rhythm of chaos the feminine and masculine energies come together. We let go and empty ourselves fully into our dance and the energy moving through us. It is the rhythm of surrender and release. This rhythm liberates us from all ideas about who we are and gives us a real experience of being total, free, intuitive and creative. We open to the unknown, and to the bigger journey carrying us all.


Lyrical (Air)   

In the rhythm of lyrical we let go of letting go.  After emptying ourselves in the rhythm of chaos, the energy lightens up and a portal opens, we cross the threshold into the larger dimension of ourselves beyond the thinking mind, an expanded state of consciousness where we feel our oneness with all of life. It is the rhythm of trance and ecstasy, creativity, transformation, joy and rebirth. We relax into the freedom of being ourselves, just as we are.

Stillness (Ether)   

The rhythm of stillness, is the rhythm of unity, integration and pure presence. We rest in the breath and our totality. There is no separation. We are one with life. We allow our dance to rest in shapes, shapes that come from our soul. We merge with the deep stillness and peace within us. We are home.


© Michelle Mahrer

5  6   Untitled design (2)

About                                Classes

5Rhythms     Retreats & Workshops

Dance Therapy                         1:1 Sessions

Contact               Women's Work

We acknowledge First Australians, the traditional custodians of country throughout Australia. We recognise their continuing culture, their contribution and connection to land, waters and community, and we pay our respect to elders past, present and emerging.

Photography of Michelle Mahrer: Vanessa Forbes  |  Website Design: Honor Morningstar  |  Website Build: Rachelle Deem  |   Dance photos: Vanessa Forbes, Ella Dreyfus & Hayley Melrose